Scholarship

I am very pleased to announce that I have been awarded an Embroiderers Guild Scholarship. This will run from now until April 2015 and involves a project and an opportunity to exhibit (again) at the Knitting and Stitching Shows and at the Embroiderers Guild AGM next year. Since the work I did last year surrounding Southampton Common threw up so many possibilities, most of which were unrealised, I am going to continue with this line of investigation. The papers from the previous post are a starting point as are the birch bark experiments from the one before that. There are so many more leaves available this year compared with a year ago. I also have the luxury of a lot more time to experiment.

During my daily walk on the Common this morning I was shocked to discover there had been a fire during sometime in the last 24 hours

 .Image

 

Image

Luckily it was confined to a fairly small area, it could have been so much worse. It occured to me that were the Common were to be devastated then again I would be thwarted!

5 Comments on “Scholarship”

  1. arlee says:

    Caroline! Ring your bells, toot your horn! Awesome news and Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Great news, very exciting! Already looking forward to seeing the new work.

  3. Fabulous news. Very well deserved.


Leave a Reply

