St Johns Wort

20140624-165131-60691234.jpg

I was delighted to find some St Johns Wort on the Common yesterday. It is a magical dye for wool and one can achieve a succession of different colours on wool from the flowers. However since I could only gather a small quantity and I am working on cotton I decided to bottle it and add to my collection. I am hoping for a mustardy yellow.

20140624-165650-61010219.jpg

If I have time and I can gather sufficient flowers I am going to try and experiment with some wool.

One Comment on “St Johns Wort”

  1. arlee says:

    when i lived in BC, the stuff was *everywhere*, a ubiquitous ground cover that was cheap and fast growing. If i knew then what i know now!


Leave a Reply

