Another Direction

I have been experimenting with my jar dyed fabrics. I wanted to do something loosely based on the flaky scots pine bark that I have been playing with from the Common.

IMG_0297

IMG_0302

These are a couple of samples. In the interests of testing whether the dyes are at all colourfast and to distress the pieces, i threw them in the washing machine. Apart from a slight colour shift the dyes held well including the elderberry.

I then went onto working on a much larger scale

IMG_0299

I am not sure this will make it into the exhibition since it is radically different to all the other work I have completed

4 Comments on “Another Direction”

  1. Tricia says:

    Love the muted shades, so subtle yet they work so well together, as does colour in nature. I like the representation of peeling bark. Great stuff Caroline 🙂

  2. arlee says:

    Caroline, this is inspired! And as to “radically different”, that’s the evolution of an artist, and should count immensely.

  3. thredfairy says:

    It’s always a good idea to jump off the bandwagon


Leave a Reply

