Looking Forward

I hate this time of year- we have now had several dark and gloomy months and there is a feeling that we are a way yet from things improving. I am now getting serious withdrawal symptoms from my dyepot. I tend not to do much in the winter. I much prefer to work outside and also like the idea of working with the seasons and I always use the winter months for stitching and contemplation.

To combat the winter blues I am looking forward to a trip to Northern Thailand and Laos later on this month. I am hoping it is going to be a textile sort of trip but am mainly going for a bit of sun and heat.

After this am not sure when I am going to get away as am hugely busy.

In March am exhibiting with Room6 at the ICHF show Fashion Embroidery and Stitch at the NEC. I have just finished the work for this. It comprises 6 pieces and is entitled Fade. These are a couple of details of the one. I have just completed 

    
 
In April I have an exhibition at The Ashcroft Arts Centre, Fareham, Hants. Also in April I will be demonstrating at the New Forest Needlework Fiesta. I will still have stand there as well as a kind friend has agreed to run it for me.

It’s a bit of a breather in May before From the Earth kicks off. I suspect I shall be spending most of June in Hertfordshire. For anyone who doesn’t know what I am going on about go to http://www.fromtheearthtextiles.co.uk to find out more

In July I think I will lie in a darkened room but not before preparing for the Festival of Quilts at the beginning of August where I am once again sharing a stand with Alison Hulme.

September will probably see me at the Big Textile Show at Leicester

And then it’s Knitting and Stitching Show time again. This year I am involved in a gallery with Marks and Stitch. We have had a bit of a panic for this recently since we were asked for images of our work to go in the publicity material. None of us have really got very far as yet- one of the requirements is to exhibit only new work. The last few days I have been trying to get my head around what I might do and work up some samples

   
 
I had it in my mind to work with bark prints- not sure where I am going with it yet but at least now have made a start

4 Comments on “Looking Forward”

  1. Sue w says:

    They remind me of silver birch bark. Lovely.

  2. arlee says:

    i do adore that touch of silver, well placed, well executed–perfect light on the bark in wintery dusk

  3. Beautiful work, love the bark pieces maybe I will see you it Hertfordshire if my work gets accepted.

  4. thredfairy says:

    Ethanol you! You should be hearing very soon!


Leave a Reply

